MATTY Hill ‘s winner 19 minutes from time gave the Bay a vital 1-0 win at JD Cymru Premier relegation rivals Aberystwyth Town on Friday night.

Marty’s shot from the edge of the area took a deflection to beat Aber keeper Dave Jones and give Bay a first win in eight league games.

Bay remain bottom of the JD Cymru Premier but the first win in phase two sees them level on points with 11th placed Pontypridd United, who drew 1-1 against Haverfordwest, and a point behind Aberystwyth in 10th.

Matty’s winner came against the run of play in the second half but the Seagulls did have good chances earlier in the game to have gone ahead.

Jamie Cumming’s header from captain Tom McCready’s free-kick clipped the crossbar inside the opening 20 minutes before Joe Smith made a smart save to deny John Owen at the other end.

Cummimg  was prominent for the Bay, directing a header from Hill’s cross just over the bar before striking the far post from a right angle with Dan Atkins unable to bet the  rebound.

Zac Hartley fired over the crossbar from close range after the break before he had a header saved by Smith.

Smith again denied Hartkey by tipping his long range effort over the crossbar before the Bay would take the lead somewhat against the run of play.

Aberystwyth failed to clear Cumming’s low cross into the box and the ball was picked up by Hill, who evaded a tackle and powered a shot which took a slight deflection off a defender beat keeper Jones.

Home captain Jack Thorn fired over the bar late in the game but Bay held out to the delight of the vocal travelling Seagulls.

Manager Steve Evans’ post match comments can be found here –

COLWYN BAY: Joe Smith, Alex Downes, Harry Owen, Dan Davies (Stefan Edwards 45’), Sam Hart, Owen Cushion, Tom McCready, Jamie Cumming (Adam Mitter 90+5’), Udoyen Akpan (Lloyd Marsh-Hughes 69’), Matty Hill (Tommy Creamer 83’), Dan Atkins. Unused subs:  Reece Trueman (G), Cai Owen.

Attendance: 354


1 Penybont 2495103235-329
2 Haverfordwest 247893035-529
3 Barry Town 2466122946-1724
4 Aberystwyth 2453161947-2818
5 Pontypridd Town 2465131732-1517
6 Colwyn Bay 2452172951-2217

1 Penybont2495103235-329– – – – –
2 Haverfordwest County247893035-529– – – – –
3Barry Town United2466122946-1724– – – – –
4 Aberystwyth Town2453161947-2818– – – – –
5 Pontypridd United2465131732-1517– – – – –
6 Colwyn Bay2452172951-2217