Club1st Half2nd HalfGoals
CPD Bae Colwyn000

Match Report

THE Seagulls suffered a hugely disappointing 1-0 defeat against 10-man Aberystwyth Town to drop back into the relegation positions of the JD Cymru Premier League.

Aberystwyth had Mark Cadwallader sent off just before half-time for a late challenge on Tommy Creamer, buy took the lead early in the second half and the ten men then defended resolutely to bag three huge points to leapfrog Bay in the table.

In a goalless first half the home side had two goals disallowed, for offside and handball, while Colwyn Bay twice hit the bar through Udo Akpan and Tom McCready.

The home side then took the lead a minute into the second half when a long ranger effort came back off the bar and Liam Walsh scored from the rebound.

The Bay had plenty of possession after that but take what few chances they had against a defiant home defence.

Lloyd Marsh-Hughes headed narrowly wide from Tom McCready’s cross, Stef Edwards couldn’t finish off good work by Lloyd Marsh-Hughes and Dan Jones, while Marsh-Hughes volleyed over the bar from six yards and Udi Akpan fired a volley straight at the keeper.

In the end it needed a good save by Joe Smith to prevent Alex Darlington from doubling Aberystwyth’s lead as Bay suffered a fifth successive league defeat..

COLWYN BAY: Joe Smith, Alex Downes, Sam Hart, Stef Edwards, Cai Owen (Nick Rushton 47), Tom McCready, Matty Hill (Sam Turner 70), Tommy Creamer (Lloyd Marsh-Hughes 63), Jamie Cumming, Udoyen Akpan. Subs not used: Brandon Diau, Sam Downey, Will McKinley, Szymon Tyszko.

Attendance: 333


Date Time League Season Full Time
05/01/2024 20:00 JD Cymru Premier - Phase 1 2023 - 24 0'


Park Avenue
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, Wales, SY23 1PG, United Kingdom


CPD Bae Colwyn

21Dan M Jones Midfielder
13Joe Smith Goalkeeper
12Lloyd Marsh-Hughes 22 Forward
17Nick Rushton 4 Midfielder
20Sam Turner 10 Forward
2Alex Downes Defender
5Brandon Diau Defender
4Cai Owen 17 Midfielder
10Matty Hill 20 Forward
6Sam Downey Midfielder
3Stefan Edwards Defender
43Szymon Tyskzko Goalkeeper
22Tom Creamer 12 Midfielder
8Tom McCready Midfielder
24Udoyen Akpan Forward
William McKinley Midfielder
Yellow Cards
Red Cards

Last modified: 05/01/2024