Newtown1 (3)
CPD Bae Colwyn1 (5)

Match Report

GOALKEEPER Joe Smith, playing only his fourth game of the season, was the hero as Colwyn Bay won on penalties at Newtown to progress to the next round of the JD Welsh Cup.

Jiff had made some fine saves to keep his side in the game before Jamie Cumming scored an 80th minute equaliser, and then pulled off another big save in the shoot-out as the Seagulls won 5-3 with Tom McCready, Nick Rushton, Jamie Cumming, Udi Akpan and Matty Hill all successful from the spot.

It was a big return as well from injury for Matty Hill, who, after coming on as a second half substitute, provided the cross for Jamie Cumming’s headed goal, and then hit the tie-winning penalty.

In a goalless first half Smith made a fine save after a defensive error had let in Callum Roberts, and made two other good saves from Aaron Williams.

Newtown, who had assistant manager Callum McKenzie red carded, also had a goal disallowed for a foul.

In the second half Joe Smith did well to turn an effort from Zac Hartley away for a corner before the home side took the lead on 58 minutes with a good finish from Aaron Williams.

Matty Hill did well when he came on and hit a shot from 20 yards over the bar after a strong run, before crossing from the right for Jamie Cumming to head the equaliser on 80 minutes,

Joe Smith made another great save to deny Newtown a late winner and take the tie to penalties, with Bay going though to spark huge celebrations among the big Bay following.

See manager Steve Evans’ post-match comments on Newtown vs CPD Bae Colwyn – JD Welsh Cup Round 3 – YouTube

COLWYN BAY: Joe Smith, Alex Downes, Stef Edwards, Cai Owen, Sam Downey (Nick Rushton 65), Tom McCready, Jamie Cumming, Sam Hart, Dan Jones (Sam Turner 85), Tom Creamer (Matty Hill 63), Udoyen AKpan. Subs not used: Brandon Diau, Dylan Allshorn.

Attendance: 309


Date Time League Season Full Time
11/11/2023 14:00 JD Welsh Cup 2023 - 24 0'


Latham Park
Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn, Powys, Wales, SY16 1EN, United Kingdom


CPD Bae Colwyn

21Dan M Jones 20 Midfielder
13Joe Smith Goalkeeper
17Nick Rushton 6 Midfielder
20Sam Turner 21 Forward
2Alex Downes Defender
5Brandon Diau Defender
4Cai Owen Midfielder
11Dylan Allshorn Forward
9Jamie Cumming Forward
10Matty Hill 22 Forward
6Sam Downey 17 Midfielder
19Sam Hart Defender
3Stefan Edwards Defender
22Tom Creamer 10 Midfielder
8Tom McCready Midfielder
24Udoyen Akpan Forward
Yellow Cards
Red Cards

Last modified: 11/11/2023